ODPS | BMV | Ohio Auto Dealers

Welcome to the ODPS | Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Skip Navigation

Please NOTE: You are viewing the non-styled version of SITE NAME. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.

Ohio.gov
ODPS | BMV | OhioAutoDealers.com
Ohio Auto Dealers | Salvage Dealer Buyer Identification Card

Salvage Dealer Buyer Identification Card

Any person licensed as an Ohio salvage motor vehicle dealer, and/or up to two designated employees, who wish to purchase salvage motor vehicles from Ohio salvage motor vehicle auctions or pools. Persons licensed in another state as a salvage motor vehicle dealer, whose state's requirements are equivalent to those in Ohio, and/or up to two designated employees may apply for Ohio salvage dealer buyer's identification
card(s).

 

General Information & Requirements

Application
 
        • Applicants must submit an application, and will not be permitted to purchase from Ohio salvage motor vehicle auctions or pools until licensed.
        • Form BMV 4419 - Requirements and Instructions for completing applications for salvage dealer buyer's identification card.
        • Form BMV 4420 - application must be completed and notarized.
        • One 2" by 2" official passport photo.

Electronic Fingerprinting: Ohio residents who are owners, all partners, president, all members, owning 10% or more, and all trustees MUST be electronically fingerprinted and have the results forwarded to the Dealer Licensing Section, P.O. Box 16521, Columbus, Ohio 43216-6521. Visit the following link on Ohio Attorney General Web site (Webcheck locations) for a complete list of electronic fingerprinting locations in Ohio.

*Out-of-state residents may submit a fingerprint card and processing fee, BMV 4452. Do not send the fingerprint card directly to B.C.I. & I. Acceptable fingerprint card(s) may be obtained only by contacting the Dealer Licensing Section at (614) 752-7636.

If B.C.I. & I. reports that the person has ever been arrested, for any reason, has criminal record, or is a multi-state offender, the applicant should expect significant delays. The person being fingerprinted can reduce the possibility of having the application delayed by explaining their circumstances fully and completely on a separate sheet, provide a copy of the court's journal entry showing the final disposition of your arrest and/or conviction, and the charge your were convicted of, if any and submit it with the application.

NOTE: Electronic Fingerprinting prices vary and payable to the company taking the print.

 

Additional
Information

Buyer identification cards are non-transferable, and must be returned to the BMV if employment is terminated. If a buyer identification card is lost, stolen, or damaged, the licensee may make application for a duplicate card. The fee for a duplicate is $35.00. One passport size photograph must be submitted with each completed application for a duplicate buyer identification card. Damaged cards must be returned to the BMV. A replacement renewal sticker may be obtained by submitting a completed application and a $35.00 fee.

 

 

Out-of-state
Application Requirements

See below for additional application requirements for specific states.

   
Eligibility

Conviction of a felony or evidence of not being of good financial repute are reasons for denial.

 
Relevant
Code
Sections

ORC 4738.18

 

 

     
     

 

Inspections

N/A

 
Specific
Additional
State
Requirements

Alabama

Sales Tax License, Motor Vehicle Dealer, Reconditioner, Rebuilder and/or Wholesaler License

Arizona

Automotive Recycler License

Arkansas

Used motor vehicle dealer's license

California

Not qualified for issuance

Connecticut

Motor Vehicle Dealers or Repair License - Type of license: "Junk Dealer"

Delaware

Automotive Recycler License

Florida

Not qualified for issuance

Georgia

Used Motor Vehicle Parts Dealer and Used Motor Vehicle Dealer License

Illinois

Automotive Parts Recycler License

Idaho

Not qualified for issuance

Indiana

Salvage Motor Vehicle Business License -- license type--Salvage

Iowa

Authorized Vehicle Recycler/Vehicle Rebuilder License

Registered Motor Vehicle Dealer License

Kansas

Salvage & Storage Certificate of Compliance

Kentucky

Restricted/Automotive Recycling Dealer License

Louisiana

Auto Dismantler License

Michigan

State of Michigan Department of State Vehicle Dealer License (Class B/C or R)

Evidence of record keeping in accordance with state law

Minnesota

Dealer License Certificate - Type: Used, Type: Parts

Mississippi

Not qualified for issuance

Missouri

Salvage Dealer or Dismantler Re-builder or Body Shop License

NOTE: No wholesale only licensed applicants

Nebraska

Not qualified for issuance

New York

State of NY Dept of Motor Vehicle official business certificate - Dismantler

North Carolina

Not qualified for issuance

North Dakota

Valid North Dakota Certificate of Dealers License

Oklahoma

Automotive, Dismantler & Recycler License

Oregon

Not qualified for issuance

Pennsylvania

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Dealer Registration Card w/abbreviation "Veh Sal Wreck"

Commonwealth of PA Automotive Dismantler & Recycler License OR Letter of exemption from same.

South Carolina Not qualified for issuance

South Dakota

Not qualified for issuance

Tennessee

Dismantler and Recycler License

Texas

Salvage Vehicle Dealer License

Virginia

Commonwealth of Virginia Salvage Dealer and Rebuilder License

Washington

Vehicle Wrecker/Dismantler License

West Virginia

Department of Highways - License to Operate and Maintain a Salvage Yard

Wisconsin

Salvage Dealer License - License Type 1 or 2

Canada

Not qualified for issuance

States Not Listed

When an application is received from a state where no Ohio buyers cards have been issued, the state licensing authority must be contacted for copies of their laws and requirements. Once received, the laws will be reviewed to determine whether or not they are equivalent to Ohio's laws.

 

Fees

First $35.00
Renewal $35.00
Duplicate $35.00